After Being Called “Girlie” at the Hardware Store*

July 23, 2010

2010 Merit Award
After Being Called “Girlie” at the Hardware Store
By Kim Roe

I like to think of myself as a woman
Who carries a knife, drives a dark
One-ton diesel, scrappy stock dogs
On the seat beside me.
My bite cuts sharp and quick
like a machete.

With my eyes I knock beer belly bullies
Off their bar stools. Horses who kick
Fall over backwards when I give them that look.

I never say a word.

When I enter a room all eyes are on me.
Not because of beauty and grace but

Unpredictability.

All by myself I build brick walls
And barbed wire fences that surround me.
NO TRESPASSING ALLOWED.

And when I see young bulls heavy with muscle and hormones
I know their weakness.
I know how to bring them down.


*Copyright 2010 by Kim Roe. This poem appears in POETRY WALK: Sue C. Boynton Poetry Contest – The First Five Years. Info: Book!

