poetry process talk and reading

April 7, 2015

Pamela Porter at Village Books

In conjunction with SpeakEasy 16: Fresh Minds New Words, you are invited to a special talk by guest poet Pamela Porter on Saturday, April 11, 2015, at 4:00pm, at Village Books in Fairhaven. She will talk about her award-winning novel-in-verse, The Crazy Man, and what’s involved in writing poetry for children. Porter says,

When I talk with young readers about my novel The Crazy Man, I hear many, many comments such as, “I’d never read a whole book before until our teacher said I should read The Crazy Man, and I read it all the way to the end.” It seems ironic now that when Groundwood Books was considering whether to publish The Crazy Man, the conversation in the editorial office was, “So who’s going to read a novel in poems?” Well, I thought young readers would read a novel in poems; everything I was taught in my graduate writing program about leaving white space to create silence around the words in a poem, pulling out important words to the end of the line, about using images to convey meaning rather than just prosy explanation — all these elements important to the writing of a poem are also aids for young readers. In my talk, I’ll discuss what factors were important for me in the writing itself, and why The Crazy Man has proved to be so appealing to readers of all ages.

Pamela Porter will also read a selection of poems for children at Sunday’s SpeakEasy at the Mount Baker Theatre.

Leave a Reply

