and meanwhile in New York…

April 30, 2015

panel 60

The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) is currently showing One-Way Ticket: Jacob Lawrence’s Migration Series and Other Works (through September 7, 2015), an exhibit that traces — in art, music and words — “the Great Migration, the multi-decade mass movement of African Americans from the rural South to the urban North that started around 1915.”

Included in the exhibit are 60 small, captioned works painted by Jacob Lawrence when he was just 23 years old — “The Migration Series.” MoMA has created a special website for the exhibit, with detailed information about each of the paintings as well as the history and culture of the time. In conjunction with One-Way Ticket,

“MoMA has commissioned ten celebrated poets, selected by Elizabeth Alexander, to write poems inspired by Jacob Lawrence’s Migration Series, which are included in the exhibition catalogue and website. This event, moderated by Alexander, presents debut readings of these poems by Rita Dove, Nikky Finney, Terrance Hayes, Tyehimba Jess, Yusef Komunyakaa, Patricia Spears Jones, Natasha Trethewey, Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon, Crystal Williams, and Kevin Young.”

The reading will be held Friday, May 1, 2015, at the Museum of Modern Art. If you’re not in New York, browse the One-Way Ticket website and write your own ekphrastic poems.
. . . . .
image: And the migrants kept coming by Jacob Lawrence, 1941


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: