Clothesline Epiphany*

May 31, 2015

CLOTHESLINE EPIPHANY by Cheryl A. Fear
2015 Walk Award
By Cheryl A. Fear

Clothesline Epiphany

I reached into the basket of wet white diapers,
grabbed a corner of one and pulled it out.
I clipped it into place.
Then I reached into the basket and did it again.
Like my mother before me, and her mother before her,
and hers before her.

A sudden strong wind caught the diapers,
snapping them into the air.
I watched them billowing against the
blue prairie sky.
I listened to their fluttering song.

They sang a song of mothers’ love,
of hands rubbed raw on washboards;
a song of aching backs and arms
stretched up as all that has been dirty
is made clean, and lifted to the sun.

The whipping white strips of cloth
sang to me
of love’s offerings
hung out to dry.

. . . . .
*Copyright 2015 by Cheryl A. Fear. Broadside illustrated by Kim Wulfestieg.

One Response to “Clothesline Epiphany*”

  1. Jan Pierson Says:

    Absolutely my favorite this year…


Leave a Reply

