I am not a puddle*

July 5, 2015

I am not a puddle by Lauren Carr
2015 Walk Award
By Lauren Carr (12th grade)

I am not a puddle

You aren’t ready for me
I am too much person for you to just
          walk into without warning
I am not just a puddle you can walk in and out of
I am the entire ocean
There is no way you can ever fully know me
There are corners and crevasses that will stay hidden
          from even the most experienced diver
There is a depth to me that will devour
          you and leave you breathless
You can’t just walk into me
          and expect to come out alive
You have to prepare yourself
          for the hidden wonders and perils of my soul
You have to splash in head first
          in awe of my entire being
There is no way a silly boy like you can ride
          the currents of my mind without a surfboard and
There is no way you can love me
          if you’re afraid of sharks
. . . . .
*Copyright 2015 by Lauren Carr. Broadside illustrated by Mat Hudson.

Leave a Reply

