At Dawn I Stare Down a Raccoon from my Back Porch*

November 8, 2015

At Dawn I Stare Down a Raccoon byEric Lochridge
2015 Merit Award
By Eric Lochridge

At Dawn I Stare Down a Raccoon from my Back Porch

The tallest fir behind my house
hides many dark abodes.
One morning a masked bandit
shuffled out onto a limb.

There in the bronze light our eyes met.

The ancient hulk of shadow and needles
bowed him toward me, pushed up by a lake breeze.
A wisp of fog slipped between us.
When it cleared, he had gone.

I have not seen him since.

. . . . .
*Copyright 2015 by Eric Lochridge. Broadside illustrated by Christian Smith.

Leave a Reply

