Logophilia*

August 14, 2016

Logophilia - Dayna Patterson
2016 Merit Award
By Dayna Patterson

I want a dictionary with all the words.
I want a dictionary so big it houses all
the words and parts of words,
phonemes, morphemes, roots and
leaves, their histories. Words in every
language, from Persian to Portuguese.
I want the internet of words, their flux
and flummox and flume. I want the
words to unfold, unfurl, unravel,
uncrease, release. Whisper sub rosa
their viscera, their mystery. I want the
OED, the Merriam-Webster,
American Heritage, Collegiate,
Urban, Slang. I want the Big Bang of
all those words and what they mean
Inside my brain, deep in my cortical
cells, the oldest part. I want the art of
words, want them to multiply like
plankton, so numerous they feed
whale bodies of poems, allow them to
surface, sing, allow me not to repeat
myself when I tell you I love you
dooset daram       eu te amo       I love

. . . . .
*Copyright 2016 by Dayna Patterson. Broadside illustrated by Megan Carroll.

Leave a Reply

