Nooksack Salutation*

August 28, 2016

Nooksack Salutation - Leslie Wharton
2016 Merit Award
By Leslie Wharton

Down by the river,
sun rises lifting fog.
I watch, and wait,
for clarity.
I came to fish,
but first bend over
to touch
flowing water.
I gather words.
Raise my arms,
shake my hands,
remember rain.
Turn toward the bank.
Dry my hands
on soft moss,
warm them on
smooth stones,
left bare in drought,
laid down by the river.

. . . . .
*Copyright 2016 by Leslie Wharton. Broadside illustrated by Mat Hudson.

Leave a Reply

