Mathias Svalina delivers

November 11, 2016

Mathias Svalina - Dream Delivery Service

We seem to feel the need for good news…so here’s some.

As close as we can figure, Mathias Svalina is a busy man. Born in Chicago, he is the author of The Wine-Dark Sea (Sidebrow, 2016) (read a review by Greg Bem), Wastoid (Big Lucks Books, 2014), The Explosions (Subito Press, 2012), I Am a Very Productive Entrepreneur (Mud Luscious Press, 2011) and Destruction Myths (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 2009). He is an editor for Octopus Books and teaches writing in Denver, Colorado.

Meanwhile, since 2014, Svalina has operated The Dream Delivery Service in Denver. When Sara Renee Marshall interviewed him for the Poetry Society of America, the poet explained:

I take about forty subscribers a month then write & deliver dream poems to them every day. I write the dreams from my imagination. Every day I try to write a unique dream for each subscriber, though I often fall short. For subscribers within a four-mile radius of my home base I deliver the dreams to their doors, biking through the empty city before dawn. For subscribers outside the radius I mail the dreams every day. During the months I deliver dreams I write a lot, bike a lot, & get pretty weird.

Starting this fall through the summer of 2017 Mathias Svalina will be delivering dreams (by bicycle) in other cities, including Richmond, Tucson, Marfa, New Orleans, Chicago, and possibly elsewhere. Go, Mathias! Keep getting weird.

Read Marshall’s interview and see a couple of sample dreams Svalina wrote for the author. There’s also a little more information on Svalina’s Dream Delivery Service site.

Leave a Reply

