celebrating June Jordan

May 7, 2018

Here’s a great story from Expedition Press:

Last spring, then-14-year-old Sabina Smith walked into the Expedition Press print shop, in Kingston, Washington, with June Jordan’s “Poem about My Rights” in hand. After reading it aloud, she turned to publisher/artist Myrna Keliher and said, “I never read a poem like THAT before. I didn’t know a poem could BE like that. Everyone needs to read this. I think it can change people’s minds. Can we print it?”

Keliher said yes. After more than a year of after-school and weekend sessions, Sabina has created a 4-foot long letterpress broadside of “Poem about My Rights” with the goal of selling it to benefit Black Lives Matter and Planned Parenthood.

On Saturday, June 2, 2018, poets Jamaica Baldwin, Jalayna Carter, and Natasha Marin will read work by Jordan that holds particular impact for them, and the event will culminate in a joint reading of “Poem about My Rights.” Join Expedition Press, Sabina Smith, and the poets for a memorable reading at Open Books in Seattle.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.