Amidst plenty of gloomy financial news, the Academy of American Poets has announced awards of $50,000 each to 23 Poets Laureate of states, cities, counties, and the Navajo Nation. Funded by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the program is in its second year, with expanded coverage and a change in focus, as poets are subject to travel restrictions and other distancing requirements. You may recall that Claudia Castro Luna’s One River, A Thousand Names project was funded last year.

Cascadia’s sole winner this year is Susan Landgraf, Poet Laureate of Auburn, Washington. A poet and journalist, Landgraf is the author of What We Bury Changes the Ground (Tebot Bach, 2017). She will partner with the Muckleshoot Tribe and Reservation and the City of Auburn to offer poetry workshops at the Tribal School and in the Auburn Public Schools Tribal Programs, as well as for adults and children at the Tribal Center. The project will culminate in a book of participants’ poems, as well as a series of readings on the Reservation, in the City of Auburn, and at the State Capitol.

Congratulations to Susan and all of this year’s grantees!

Congratulations to the 175 writers, scholars, artists, and scientists who have been named winners of 2020 Guggenheim fellowships. The impressive list includes the following poets:

  • Michael Dickman, Poet, Princeton, New Jersey; Lecturer in Creative Writing, Princeton University
  • Janice N. Harrington, Poet, Champaign, Illinois; Professor of English, University of Illinois
  • Ada Limón, Poet, Lexington, Kentucky
  • Philip Metres, Poet, University Heights, Ohio; Professor of English, John Carroll University
  • Aimee Nezhukumatathil, Poet, Oxford, Mississippi; Professor of English, University of Mississippi
  • Lisa Olstein, Poet, Austin, Texas; Professor, Department of English, University of Texas at Austin
  • Jana Prikryl, Poet, Brooklyn, New York
  • Diane Seuss, Poet, Kalamazoo, Michigan
  • Brian Teare, Poet, Charlottesville, Virginia; Associate Professor of Creative Writing, University of Virginia

“Guggenheim Fellowships are grants to selected individuals made for a minimum of six months and a maximum of twelve months. Since the purpose of the Guggenheim Fellowship program is to help provide Fellows with blocks of time in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible, grants are made freely. No special conditions attach to them, and Fellows may spend their grant funds in any manner they deem necessary to their work.”

Thank you.

February 7, 2020

In case you missed the announcement of this exceedingly juicy bit of philanthropy, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has granted $4.5 Million to The Academy of American Poets. Believed to be the largest grant ever made by a philanthropic institution to support poets in the United States, the unprecedented amount will enable The Academy of American Poets to fund its Poets Laureate Fellowship program for the next three years.

In its press release on the grant, cites the work of four poets laureate, including Washington State Poet Laureate Claudia Castro Luna.

What a fine gift!

In case you missed the announcement, cartoonist (etc.) Lynda Barry and poet/fiction writer Ocean Vuong are among the 26 MacArthur Fellows for 2019.

Known informally as the “Genius” grant, “the MacArthur Fellowship is a five-year grant to individuals who show exceptional creativity in their work and the prospect for still more in the future. The fellowship is designed to provide recipients with the flexibility to pursue their creative activities in the absence of specific obligations or reporting requirements. There are no limits on age or area of activity.” The stipend for the MacArthur Fellowship is currently set at $625,000, paid in quarterly installments over five years.

Visit the MacArthur Foundation website for more information.

big news for poetry

January 16, 2019

With the rare exceptions (Ruth Lilly’s gift to Poetry magazine, The Liana Foundation gift to Poets & Writers, the gift of a trust fund by Alice Fay, Contessa Giovanni de Castagnola, to the Poetry Society of America, the Mary Dearing Lewis and Jeremy Ingalls bequest to the University of Arizona Poetry Center), funding for poetry, though generous at any level, is typically in the thousands. So when the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation announced two new poetry grants to the tune of $2.2 million, it’s something to celebrate. Read the announcement in yesterday’s New York Times and a more detailed press release on


November 1, 2018

Artist Trust has announced the recipients of its 2018 Grants for Artist Projects (GAP) Award. A total of $92,000 will be directly invested in 61 Washington artists through project-based grants in the amount of $1,500 each.

See the complete list here and congratulate the winners!


November 1, 2017

Artist Trust has announced its 2017 award winners, including Grants for Artist Projects, Arts Innovator Award, Conductive Garboil Grant, Fellowship, and Twining Humber Award. Have a look at the complete list and congratulate your friends!

grant season

July 15, 2016

Artist TrustIf you are an artist or writer and you’re looking for financial support, it may be worth your while to peruse the Grants + Awards + Residencies available through Artist Trust. There are additional listings, including residencies, on the Opportunities page.

Artist Trust on Tour

April 8, 2016

Artist Trust on Tour / Bellingham

Applications are being accepted for Artist Trust Grants for Artist Projects (GAP). The application deadline is Monday, May 23, 2016. If you plan to apply, you might want to attend one or both of the events scheduled in Bellingham.

On Thursday, April 28, 2016, spoken word performance artist Roberto Ascalon (Bellingham), circus artist Esther de Monteflores (Bellingham), poet Allen Braden (Tacoma), and visual artist and muralist Christopher Paul Jordan (Tacoma), will offer performances in their various disciplines. The event, at the Firehouse Performing Arts Center, is free, but RSVPs are required.

On Saturday, April 30, 2016, Owen David, Artist Trust’s Grants to Artists Program Coordinator, will conduct a 3-hour workshop on How to Submit a Competitive Grant Application. There will also be a Q&A panel with Artist Trust grant recipients Pam Kuntz, Roberto Ascalon, and Esther de Monteflores. The fee is $30 for Artist Trust members, $35 for non-members.

Artist Trust on Tour will continue in Tacoma on May 19, Seattle on August 3 and Port Townsend on September 15.

Attention storytellers!

July 21, 2015

Artist TrustAre you a storyteller in Washington state? Artist Trust has just announced the brand new Gar LaSalle Storyteller Award recognizing “an artist who demonstrates excellence in storytelling through their primary artistic discipline.” The 2015 award will focus on the discipline of literature/fiction. Information on The Gar LaSalle Storyteller Award is available from Artist Trust and applications are due through Call for Entry by Wednesday, September 9, 2015.

%d bloggers like this: