more awards

September 29, 2021

The MacArthur Foundation has just announced the slate of 25 MacArthur Fellows for 2021. The Foundation awards “unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction.” Known colloquially as “genius” grants, the awards recognize exceptional vision in a variety of fields. Each fellowship comes with a stipend of $625,000 to the recipient, paid out in equal quarterly installments over five years.

Among this year’s fellows are poets Hanif Abdurraqib, Reginald Dwayne Betts, and Don Mee Choi.

today, live

March 18, 2021

Today, Thursday, March 18, 2021, at 1:00pm Pacific, The Atlanta International Poetry & Translation Festival presents a group of phenomenal Belarusian and U.S. poets to share and translate their respective poems.

The Belarusian poets are: Valzhyna Mort, Dmitry Strotsev, Maryja Martysevič, Julia Cimafiejeva, and Uladzimir Liankievič. The U.S. poets are: Vievee Francis, Hanif Abdurraqib, Travis Denton, and Mario Chard.

The event will stream live and free on BlueJeans.

. . . . .
thanks to Annie Grosshans for the heads up

new podcast

July 7, 2020

We recently wrote about voca, the University of Arizona Poetry Center’s Audio Video Library of more than 1,000 recordings of poets reading their work during visits to the Center between 1963 and today. The Poetry Center has now curated selections from voca for a brand-new podcast series, Poetry Centered.

In each episode, a guest poet introduces three poems from voca, sharing their insights about the remarkable performances recorded in our archive. Each episode concludes with the guest poet reading a poem of their own. Our inaugural season includes episodes hosted by Hanif Abdurraqib, Alison Hawthorne Deming, Ada Limón, Urayoán Noel, Maggie Smith, and TC Tolbert.

Visit the Poetry Centered Podcast page to listen, subscribe, or download transcripts.

%d bloggers like this: