laurelWith this month’s re-appointment of U.S. Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry, Natasha Trethewey (she is also State Poet Laureate of Mississippi), who will serve for a second term (2013-2014), we thought it an auspicious time to consider Poets Laureate closer to home. Here is a brief introduction, with links (if available) where you can find announcements, bios, poetry and scheduled readings.

Kathleen Flenniken is Washington State Poet Laureate (2012-2014). In addition to her own writing and an ambitious schedule of readings, workshops and other appearances, Kathleen maintains The Far Field, a growing, online collection of works by poets in Washington.

Richard (Dick) Brugger is Poet Laureate for the city of Auburn, Washington (2012-2015).

Christopher Luna is serving as the Poet Laureate for Clark County, Washington (2013-2014).

Jeannine Hall Gailey is Poet Laureate for Redmond, Washington (2012-2013). See also Jeannine’s Poetry in Redmond blog.

Lucas Smiraldo is Poet Laureate for the city of Tacoma, Washington (2013-2015).

Ina Whitlock is serving as Vashon Island’s Poet Laureate (2013-2015) and Vashon also has two students who serve as Youth Poets Laureate.

Patrick Knowles is Poet Laureate for the town of Yacolt, Washington, which happens to be in Clark County (see Christopher Luna, above).

In addition to our regional laureates, the Poetry Foundation-appointed Children’s Poet Laureate, Kenn Nesbitt, happens to live in Spokane, Washington, so we include him here.

And, to be neighborly, we should also mention Paulann Petersen, serving her second term as the Poet Laureate of Oregon; Evelyn Lau, the Poet Laureate of Vancouver, BC; Janet Marie Rogers, Poet Laureate of Victoria, BC; Fred Wah, the Parliamentary Poet Laureate of Canada; and Brady Udall, Writer in Residence for the state of Idaho. (Note: Udall, whose term ends June 30, 2013, is a novelist. He will be replaced as Writer in Residence by poet Diane Raptosh, who is also serving as the first Poet Laureate for the city of Boise.)