prize time

September 10, 2022

The Poetry Foundation has just announced the winners of the 2022 Pegasus Awards, a family of literary prizes that include the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the Young People’s Poet Laureate, and the Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism.

In recognition of Poetry magazine’s 110th anniversary, the Poetry Foundation has decided to award 10 additional Ruth Lilly Poetry Prizes this year, resulting in $1,132,500 in prizes distributed to the 2022 winners. It is the greatest prize amount that the Foundation has ever awarded to a cohort of living poets at one time. The 11 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize winners are: Sandra Cisneros, CAConrad, Rita Dove, Nikki Giovanni, Juan Felipe Herrera, Angela Jackson, Haki Madhubuti, Sharon Olds, Sonia Sanchez, Patti Smith, and Arthur Sze.

The Poetry Foundation has also chosen Elizabeth Acevedo, the bestselling author of The Poet X, to serve as the 2022–2024 Young People’s Poet Laureate, and awarded The Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism to Kevin Quashie for his book Black Aliveness, or A Poetics of Being, which draws on Black feminist literary texts, including work by poets Lucille Clifton, Audre Lorde, and June Jordan.

Dispatches from Solitude

February 25, 2021

Elliott Bay Book Company presents Conjunctions: 75 Dispatches from Solitude, an evening of readings featuring Conjunctions editor, Bradford Morrow, along with Barbara Tran, Nathaniel Mackey, Sandra Cisneros and Henry Cisneros, and Brandon Hobson. The reading will happen tomorrow, Friday, February 26, 2021, at 5:00pm Pacific. Register here and find out more about Conjunctions here.

on poetry

December 20, 2016

Sandra Cisneros“Write about what makes you different . . . you give things power by keeping them silent.”
Sandra Cisneros
(b. December 20, 1954)
. . . . .
Photo ©2013 Alan Goldfarb

%d bloggers like this: