on poetry

September 7, 2020

“My personal hobbies are reading, listening to music, and silence.”
Edith Sitwell
(September 7, 1887 – December 9, 1964)

. . . . .
photo

on poetry

August 17, 2020


“Silence is also a form of speaking.”
Herta Müller
(b. August 17, 1953)

. . . . .
Photo U. Montan © The Nobel Foundation
quote

Veterans Day

November 11, 2019

Public Law No: 114-240, approved October 7, 2016, by both Houses of Congress, states:

The President shall issue each year a proclamation calling on the people of the United States to observe two minutes of silence on Veterans Day in honor of the service and sacrifice of veterans throughout the history of the Nation, beginning at —
(1) 3:11 p.m. Atlantic standard time;
(2) 2:11 p.m. eastern standard time;
(3) 1:11 p.m. central standard time;
(4) 12:11 p.m. mountain standard time;
(5) 11:11 a.m. Pacific standard time;
(6) 10:11 a.m. Alaska standard time; and
(7) 9:11 a.m. Hawaii-Aleutian standard time.

Take a couple of minutes today to salute your ghosts and heroes. Read a poem of war or of peace. Begin a poem. Say thanks.

. . . . .
J.I. Kleinberg photo, Arlington National Cemetery

Water by Salmon*

August 18, 2019


2019 Merit Award
By Phelps McIlvaine
After Emily Dickinson’s “WATER IS TAUGHT BY THIRST”

As life is taught by death,
and the Sun by Space,
So, Clouds are taught by Land
and Rains by Place.

As Mountains are taught by Plains,
and Rivers by Lakes,
So, Trees are taught by Soils,
And Elements by their Weight.

As Deserts are taught by Shores,
and Ocean Waves by Wind,
So, Depth is taught by height,
and Tides by Celestial Spin.

As Sound is taught by Silence,
and Insight by Reason,
So, humans are taught by Water
and Water, by Salmon.

. . . . .
*Copyright 2019 by Phelps McIlvaine. Broadside illustrated by Angela Boyle.

on poetry

February 26, 2018

“Not being heard is no reason for silence.” (N’être pas écouté, ce n’est pas une raison pour se taire.)
Victor Hugo
(February 26, 1802 – May 22, 1885)

. . . . .
Portrait of Victor Hugo by Étienne Carjat

on poetry

May 25, 2015

Roethke by Mary Randlett“May my silences become more accurate.”
Theodore Roethke
(May 25, 1908 –
August 1, 1963)
. . . . .
photo by Mary Randlett,
Jordan Schnitzer Museum of Art

On Heliotrope Trail*

November 23, 2010

By Devan Schwartz
2010 Walk Award
Placard design by Egress Studio
*Copyright 2010 by Devan Schwartz. This poem, which can also be read here, appears in POETRY WALK: Sue C. Boynton Poetry Contest – The First Five Years. Info: Book! Placard design by Egress Studio.

%d bloggers like this: