the 2014 poetry postcard wrap-up

September 25, 2014

poetry postcard

By all accounts, 2014 has been a good year for August Poetry Postcard-ers. Though some people were disappointed with the number of cards they received, most seem delighted, and continue to enjoy the surprise of finding a late-arriving postcard in the mailbox even well into September. (Comments are gathered from the project’s Facebook group.)

For this participant, it was the fourth year and the best haul yet. The people on my list received postcards from my extremely random collection — cards that have found their way to me from family, garage sales, past travels, etc. — and most of the poems were prompted by the image or the caption on the card itself.

After I finished my regular August list, I decided to keep going, sending cards to the people who had sent them to me (the way the list is set up, your receive from list is different from your send to list) and responding very directly to the poem they wrote. I still have a few more to send, but by the end of September, I’ll have around 60 little drafts and, among them, perhaps some lines that will find their way into more developed poems.

Paul Nelson is a founder of the August Poetry Postcard Fest, along with Lana Hechtman Ayers, and he is also this year’s poet wrangler. His blog serves as Postcard Fest Central and there you’ll find information about the annual event, including a 2015 countdown clock, Paul’s afterword about this year’s fest and details on the postcards and poems he sent, plus a page about the postcards he received.

Paul’s tremendous work on behalf of this event results in the production of an enormous amount of poetry, to say nothing of the expanded (worldwide) network of poets connecting with one another and the mood-enhancing effect on our mail carriers, who must certainly be amused at all this poetry traffic. Thanks, Paul.

Some of the other 422 people on this year’s August Poetry Postcard list are also sharing their poems (and/or their reflections on participating). To see more, click on the poet’s name (in some cases you may have to navigate through several pages to see all of the person’s postcards):

Anna ElkinsBarbara Jean Sunshine Walsh
Courtney BirstDenise at NewPagesJessica Goodfellow
Kelleyanne PearceKristin Cleage Williams
Lisa NicholsMartina RobinsonMary Beth Frezon
McKenzie Lynn TozanNaomi / Kestrel Hill
Raymond MaxwellS.E. IngrahamWrensong

If I’ve missed your postcard posts, please leave a comment with a link to your blog or website. Thanks!

7 Responses to “the 2014 poetry postcard wrap-up”

  1. paulenelson Says:

    Wonderful that you’ve taken the time to document the blogs of participants and that you participate in such an inspired way. Am planning changes for year 9 in 2015. Details in July. Thanks Judy. Sorry I will miss your gig in Wedgwood! I have a gig in Olympia. Ugh.


  2. 2014 was the second year I participated and the efforts culminated in the publication of Spider Lace Dragonfly Mind, Sutra of August Insects, Thirty New Poems, available Dec 18 2014 from Amazon.com …. I am thankful for the encouragement from Paul and Amanda Dowd (Vence, France, fellow poet and beekeeper who invited me to the list in 2013, and encouraged me to publish the 30 poems from 2014).

  3. indridscold Says:

    Hi. I like your blog, but while I subscribed to it some time ago, I only now found this post, and I just wanted to let you know I posted my postcards from last year on my blog, which can be found here:

    http://noholdspar.com/august-postcard-poetry-fest/

    I will also be participating this year and posting the postcards from this year’s fest after it’s over at the same link. Cheers!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.